Zen and the Art of Hiyashi Chuka

There is a Japanese concept called Zazen. It literally means moving Zen. For me this applies well to the making of Japanese food, especially sushi. Right from the start, washing the rice, I find it creates a meditative atmosphere. Making Hiyashi Chuka produces the same effect on me.

Hiyashi Chuka means “Chinese Noodles”. It is cold noodles with a variety of toppings with a citrus dressing. It is fresh, light and perfect for a summer evening.

1. Cook ramen noodles then drain and chill. Add cress and a bit of sesame oil, combine well.

2. Make a thin Japanese style omelette, season with salt and a hint of sugar. Chill.

3. Slice and prepare any other toppings. There are no rules to this. A bit like okonomiyaki. I juliened some carrots, sliced gerkins, cucumber and added baby corn. I also added some goma tofu (See previous post).

4. The dressing was a mix of grated ginger, soy sauce, lemon juice, sugar.

5. Add toppings to noodles and liberally apply dressing.

I garnished with sesame seeds and shredded basil

20120821-195353.jpg


Leave a comment